Custom Search

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Feingold Amdt. No. 2924--REJECTED

Earlier the amendment to the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2008 proposed by John Cornyn was passed 72-25 and we covered that extensively here, as well as provided reactions, roll call and the text of the amendment.

Another amendment was proposed by Russ Feingold.

Statement of purpose:

To safely redeploy United States troops from Iraq.

That amendment was rejected with 70 nays, 28 yeas, and 2 not voting, roll call found here.


Sen Reid, Harry [NV] - 9/19/2007
Sen Leahy, Patrick J. [VT] - 9/19/2007
Sen Boxer, Barbara [CA] - 9/19/2007
Sen Whitehouse, Sheldon [RI] - 9/19/2007
Sen Harkin, Tom [IA] - 9/19/2007
Sen Sanders, Bernard [VT] - 9/19/2007
Sen Schumer, Charles E. [NY] - 9/19/2007
Sen Durbin, Richard [IL] - 9/19/2007
Sen Menendez, Robert [NJ] - 9/19/2007

The relevant text of that amendment is found here, but with the search feature, it may not come up without having to look for it, which you can do by going here, then clicking on TEXT OF AMENDMENT AS SUBMITTED: CR S11765, then scrolling down to "page S11765", then the text will come up.

The relevant portion:
At the end of subtitle C of title XV, add the following:


(a) Transition of Mission.--The President shall promptly transition the mission of the United States Armed Forces in Iraq to the limited and temporary purposes set forth in subsection (d).

(b) Commencement of Safe, Phased Redeployment From Iraq.--The President shall commence the safe, phased redeployment of members of the United States Armed Forces from Iraq who are not essential to the limited and temporary purposes set forth in subsection (d). Such redeployment shall begin not later than 90 days after the date of the enactment of this Act, and shall be carried out in a manner that protects the safety and security of United States troops.

(c) Use of Funds.--No funds appropriated or otherwise made available under any provision of law may be obligated or expended to continue the deployment in Iraq of members of the United States Armed Forces after June 30, 2008.

(d) Exception for Limited and Temporary Purposes.--The prohibition under subsection (c) shall not apply to the obligation or expenditure of funds for the following limited and temporary purposes:

(1) To conduct targeted operations, limited in duration and scope, against members of al Qaeda and affiliated international terrorist organizations.

(2) To provide security for United States Government personnel and infrastructure.

(3) To provide training to members of the Iraqi Security Forces who have not been involved in sectarian violence or in attacks upon the United States Armed Forces, provided that such training does not involve members of the United States Armed Forces taking part in combat operations or being embedded with Iraqi forces.

(4) To provide training, equipment, or other materiel to members of the United States Armed Forces to ensure, maintain, or improve their safety and security.

The purpose of that amendment was micromanage the war and it was rejected, 70 to 28.


Akaka (D-HI)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Byrd (D-WV)
Cardin (D-MD)
Clinton (D-NY)
Dodd (D-CT)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feingold (D-WI)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Harkin (D-IA)
Inouye (D-HI)
Kennedy (D-MA)
Kerry (D-MA)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Kohl (D-WI)
Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Leahy (D-VT)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Murray (D-WA)
Obama (D-IL)
Reid (D-NV)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schumer (D-NY)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)


Alexander (R-TN)
Allard (R-CO)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Baucus (D-MT)
Bayh (D-IN)
Bennett (R-UT)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Bond (R-MO)
Brownback (R-KS)
Bunning (R-KY)
Burr (R-NC)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS)
Coleman (R-MN)
Collins (R-ME)
Conrad (D-ND)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Craig (R-ID)
Crapo (R-ID)
DeMint (R-SC)
Dole (R-NC)
Domenici (R-NM)
Dorgan (D-ND)
Ensign (R-NV)
Enzi (R-WY)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Gregg (R-NH)
Hagel (R-NE)
Hatch (R-UT)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kyl (R-AZ)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Levin (D-MI)
Lieberman (ID-CT)
Lincoln (D-AR)
Lott (R-MS)
Lugar (R-IN)
Martinez (R-FL)
McCain (R-AZ)
McCaskill (D-MO)
McConnell (R-KY)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Nelson (D-FL)
Nelson (D-NE)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reed (D-RI)
Roberts (R-KS)
Salazar (D-CO)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Smith (R-OR)
Snowe (R-ME)
Specter (R-PA)
Stevens (R-AK)
Sununu (R-NH)
Tester (D-MT)
Thune (R-SD)
Vitter (R-LA)
Voinovich (R-OH)
Warner (R-VA)
Webb (D-VA)

Not voting:

Biden (D-DE)
Cantwell (D-WA)

No matter how many times they try to vote on the same amendment which would micromanage the war from Congress/Senate instead of from the military and those with the military expertise, it will not turn out differently, especially since the surge and implementation of new strategies by General Petraeus is seeing success and progress.

Amazingly enough, I see a ton of buzz and whining about the Cornyn amendment, but I do not see many taking about the Feingold amendment yet.

Take Our Country Back is.