Custom Search

Monday, July 16, 2012

Conservatives Win Victory for U.S. Sovereignty, Defeat U.N. Sea Treaty

By Susan Duclos

Via email from South Carolina Senator Jim DeMint:

Together we have just won a major victory for American sovereignty.

President Obama and Massachusetts Senator John Kerry were trying to ram through a misguided treaty that conveys ownership of the oceans (2/3 of the earth surface) to a United Nations agency and subjects the U.S. to international environmental judgements. But conservatives defeated this threat to sovereignty by rallying together enough senators to block the Law of the Sea Treaty (LOST). Here’s how the  Associated Press reported the news:

A treaty governing the high seas is all but dead in the Senate as two Republican senators announced their opposition Monday, giving conservative foes the necessary votes to scuttle the pact…
Sen. Jim DeMint, R-S.C., and other conservatives have led the campaign against the treaty, contending that it would undermine U.S. sovereignty. DeMint heralded the latest development on Twitter, saying, "34 Senators now oppose LOST, sinking the misguided treaty." …
Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman John Kerry, D-Mass., had tried to build a case for ratification of the treaty, with a vote planned for the lame-duck session after the November elections…  But the conservative opposition was too formidable.
Thank you to everyone who helped spread the truth about LOST. For a full list of all of 34 senators that joined to oppose LOST and more information about this harmful treaty,  click here.

Following the link we get the names of the Senators:

Jon Kyl
Jim Inhofe
Roy Blunt
 Pat Roberts
David Vitter
Ron Johnson
John Cornyn
Jim DeMint
Tom Coburn
John Boozman
Rand Paul
Jim Risch
Mike Lee
Jeff Sessions
Mike Crapo
Orrin Hatch
John Barrasso
Richard Shelby
 John Thune
Richard Burr
Saxby Chambliss
Dan Coats
John Hoeven
Roger Wicker
Marco Rubio
Dean Heller
Pat Toomey
Chuck Grassley
Mitch McConnell
 Mike Johanns
Kelly Ayotte
Rob Portman
Johnny Isakson

[Update] The name Jim Moran was removed from the list as a reader pointed out he is a Congressman, not a Senator. I'll request an updated corrected list from Senator DeMint.