Custom Search

Thursday, December 15, 2011

91 members of Congress Who Don’t Trust Eric Holder As Attorney General

By Susan Duclos

The list of Members of Congress calling for AG Eric Holder to resign is up to 57, which my previous post listing them state-by-state has been updated with.

[Update] 59 now calling for resignation, this number will be updated as more demand it.[End update]

Major kudos to The Daily Caller's Matthew Boyle, who has kept the public aware of each member of Congress calling for Holder's resignation, much to the Obama administration's frustration and with Eric Holder himself demanding The Daily Caller stop publishing the growing list.

Today Boyle reports that Arizona Republican Rep. Paul Gosar’s office announced on Thursday morning that it has 73 co-sponsors on its House of Representatives resolution of “no confidence” in Attorney General Eric Holder’s ability to serve. [Update] up to 75 co-sponsors now, bringing the headlined total from 85 to 87.

[Update 12/22/11] Now up to 91 members.

Tweet from Boyles- New cosponsors, by the way, are Ben Quayle of AZ and Denny Rehberg of Montana- both have called for Holder's resignation before. [End update]

Between the list calling publicly for Holder's resignation and those that have co-sponsored this resolution, the total number of members of Congress that do not trust Eric Holder as Attorney General is now up to 85.

Via The Daily Caller:

According to Gosar’s office, the members who haven’t outright called for Holder’s resignation, but have signed onto his “no confidence” resolution, are Reps. Joe Wilson of South Carolina, Billy Long of Missouri, Pat Tiberi of Ohio, Pete Sessions of Texas, Renee Ellmers of North Carolina, Tom Cole of Oklahoma, Ralph Hall of Texas, Doug Lamborn of Colorado, Bobby Schilling of Illinois, Austin Scott of Georgia, Bill Johnson of Ohio, Bill Posey of Florida, Mo Brooks of Alabama, Phil Roe of Tennessee, Mick Mulvaney of South Carolina, Marlin Stutzman of Indiana, Phil Gingrey of Georgia, Scott DesJarlais of Tennessee, Kristi Noem of South Dakota, Bob Turner of New York, Mark Amodei of Nevada, Rick Crawford of Arkansas, Dan Benishek of Michigan, Joe Barton of Texas, Todd Rokita of Indiana, Jim Sensenbrenner of Wisconsin, Steve King of Iowa and David Schweikert of Arizona.
More co-sponsors- 12/22/11

Republican Reps. Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, Kevin Brady of Texas, Tim Griffin of Arkansas and Tim Walberg of Michigan have all now signed on as co-sponsors of Arizona Republican Rep. Paul Gosar’s “no confidence” resolution.

The original list of those that have called for Holder's resignation below:

Trent Franks
Paul Gosar
Ben Quayle

Duncan Hunter
Devin Nunes

Mike Coffman

Gus Bilirakis
Connie Mack
John Mica (chair, House Transportation Committee)
Allen West
Dennis Ross
Sandy Adams

Paul Broun
Lynn Westmoreland
Tom Graves

Raul Labrador

Randy Hultgren
Joe Walsh
Bobby Schilling

Dan Burton

Tim Huelskamp
Lynn Jenkins
Mike Pompeo

Brett Guthrie

John Fleming

Rodney Alexander
Charles Boustany
Jeff Landry

Andy Harris

Thaddeus McCotter

Michele Bachmann

Alan Nunnelee
Steven Palazzo

Todd Akin
Sam Graves (chair, House Small Business Committee)
Vicky Hartzler
Blaine Luetkemeyer

Denny Rehberg

New Jersey:
Frank LoBiondo

New Mexico:
Steven Pearce

New York:
Ann Marie Buerkle
Michael Grimm

North Carolina:
Walter Jones
Patrick McHenry

Bob Latta
Pat Tiberi

Tim Murphy

South Carolina:
Jeff Duncan
Trey Gowdy
Joe Wilson

Diane Black
Stephen Fincher

Quico Canseco
John Carter
John Culberson
Blake Farenthold
Bill Flores
Louie Gohmert
Kenny Marchant
Ted Poe
Ron Paul

Cynthia Lummis

The Senate

Johnny Isakson


James Inhofe

Contact your Congress member and ask them why they are not on this list.

(H/T) The Daily Caller full list by state.

(Updates added and headline changed to reflect new co-sponsors to the resolution)